Things I Found in the Mud

I never fail to enjoy looking at Slash Pine trees – the shapes, the textures, the strength.  Here is what caught my eye this morning.

Slash Pine 1

Another thing that caught my eye was the Elliott’s Milkpea.  This is a little vine with white flowers.  You can find it climbing on shrubs as you walk down the trail.  The flower is small but if you take a close look this is what you will see.

Elliott's Milkpea 1

But now to the mud.  Since we’ve had a lot of rainy weather, the trail has a number of muddy spots.  In one of these, a little white flower caught my eye.  Herb-of-Grace was in full bloom.

Herb-of-Grace 3

Further along I spotted what looked like a poached egg laying in the mud.

Loblolly Bay 3

It took me a minute, but when I realized what it was I looked up and saw the wonderful flowers of a Loblolly Bay.

Loblolly Bay 2

That’s all for now – but standby for future postings.

3 comments on “Things I Found in the Mud

  1. George Rogers says:

    A pity we can (it seems) grow Loblolly Bay as a garden plant down here.

  2. It produces such a beautiful flower I can imagine that it would provide a nice addition to any garden. But as you wrote in your blog – the tree seems a little fussy about its soil.

  3. Your pictures are wonderful John. Are you and George still going out hiking on Friday mornings?

Leave a Reply

