Yellow Hog Fungi

And how do I tie that combination together?  Well, let’s start with the yellow.  There are a couple of yellow flowers in bloom.  Smallfruit Beggarticks is found in some of the wetter areas and blooms throughout the year.

Smallfruit Beggarticks 1

Another of the wet area plants is a Primrosewillow.  There are 11 species of Primrosewillow found in the Savannas Preserve areas and only 1 species is non-native.  Of course, the species on the Trail is the non-native Peruvian Primrosewillow but it makes a nice image.

Peruvian Primrosewillow

Lets transition from wet to scrub, from wildflower to shrub, from vibrant yellow to pale yellow.  The flowers on the Hog Plum are in bloom.  The thorny shrub has little flowers with yellow petals that are rolled back and have a multitude of white whiskers sticking out.

Hog Plum

And now for the fungus tie in.  Two blogs ago I had images of the fruit of the Coastalplain Staggarbush.  That bush also serves as a host for a fungus and the fungi on the Coastalplain Staggerbush is particularly colorful.  I used to think that it was a wasp that caused  this gall but I’ve since learned better.

Gall Wasp 2

That’s all for now – but standby for future postings.

4 comments on “Yellow Hog Fungi

  1. Rick Walker says:

    John,

    Your photos are beautiful. I was on this trail some time ago before DEP took over. I have a question regarding the “gall” on Lyonia fructicosa. I have seen many of these growths but have attributed them to a fungus. What is your source of information regarding a gall wasp?

    Thanks,

    Rick

    • Thanks for the kind words about the pictures.

      As for my gall “information” I probably heard this from a source that I now can’t remember. It seemed reasonable, as I thought that most of the leaf formations that I think of as galls are caused by an insect. I have seen small insects inside the growth on the Lyonia which reinforced my wasp “info” or mis-info. I went to BugGuide.net and they didn’t offer any real guidance. I did find a blog (A writer’s blog by Christopher Tozier) where he states: “This particular lyonia gall is caused by a fungus. There is a particular insect that lives inside this fungus however.”
      So I’ve learned something and I’m revising the blog post.

      By the way aren’t you the entomologist who assembled the wonderful insect display at the Visitor Center?

      • Rick Walker says:

        Guilty as charged. That is why your mention of a gall wasp associated with these growths on Lyonia fructicosa caught my attention. I’ll have to take a closer look. Thanks for the feedback.

  2. If you have more info on this or other interesting insect info, they can be put in a blog post. Send me an email cyclura@bellsouth.net

Leave a Reply

